Jamming at Azotea Greens

Waldo and I took a quick breather in Baguio City last weekend. Our itinerary involves gabfest with my college best friend-turned-kumare and godmother duties to her newborn angel, unofficial baby shower with my expectant friend-slash-kumare-to-be and tourist guide duties to my boyfriend. It’s his first time to reach the highlands.

That’s the challenge. I’ve been to Baguio countless times and the last time I took the tourist route was in freshman year in college (read: photo opp with the lion’s head along Kennon Road, Saturday morning in Philippine Military Academy (PMA) to watch the drill and swoon over the cadets, the works!). It’s always an affair with the locals each time I visit this cold city, except for that time I helped produce Saleng: Bonfires for Peace in Oh My Gulay for Traveling Bonfires in summer 2010.

Now, where should I take him? In my mind, Baguio is an endless stage that welcomes both experienced and budding artists and encourages expression for her diverse residents and visitors alike. Baguio is the birthplace of one of my favorite bands, Kalayo (formerly known as Pinikpikan), home to filmmaker Kidlat Tahimik and his artistic family, solar painter Jordan Mang-osan and destinations like Tam-Awan Village,  BenCab Museum and many others. When my friend Yvie informed me that vegetarian restaurant Azotea Greens is holding their first art exhibit + jamming the same weekend I’ll be in town, I was ecstatic! I love greens, percussions and creative energies happening all at the same time, but I’m not sure if my beau would be crazy about it. Well, there’s only way to find out.

Signage design by Kabunyan de Guia

Signage design by Kabunyan de Guia

The jamming had began when we arrived

The jamming had began when we arrived

Where's Waldo?

Where’s Waldo?

The photo exhibit

The photo exhibit

The restaurant was packed with warm people! Waldo and I were very fortunate to find a vacant table for two when we got there. Inasmuch as I would like to explore the menu, we were unfortunately still quite full from that day’s feast at my friend’s place. Waldo, on the other hand, claimed to be still satiated even after the horseback riding episode in Camp John Hay and the long walk along Session Road earlier that evening. Either that’s true or his meat-loving tastebuds got a hint he won’t appreciate the veggie meat there. So I asked for something light instead.

Hot lemongrass tea for my sore throat (it comes with honey)

Hot lemongrass tea for my sore throat (it comes with honey)

Me and my spicy kangkong

Me and my spicy kangkong

Delicious, yes, but it wasn't as spicy as I hoped it to be

Delicious, yes, but it wasn’t as spicy as I hoped it to be

Everything got even more enjoyable when I noticed Waldo swaying and clapping along to the live music. I wanted to dance along then float away in glee. Then, something miraculous took place. He fished for kangkong…and fished for some more!

The carnivore is now a herbivore. At least, that evening.

The carnivore is now a herbivore. At least, that evening.

The jamming went on!

The jamming went on!

It was absolutely a fun gig! The artists and organizers were beaming with hope that that evening’s gathering will be the first of many, and I share that prayer.

But, hey, no art event concludes until the open mic segment. That evening, I thought I was just being comical when I divulged a fact against the loud music. Looking back, my “open mic” moment was too mushy to share but, in the spirit of our first anniversary happening today, please hear me out. Or should I say, read on? Please keep it under your hat.

From me to you...

From me to you…

Nakakaumay ba? My apologies. I shall then leave you with this clip. It’s my favorite bit of the jamming simply because it was interactive and so much fun!

Padayon Jamming

More Padayon photos here. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Jamming at Azotea Greens

Leave a comment