Sole Searching in Liliw

In April 2007, Joyce, my classmate in graduate school, invited our all-girl group to a quick sembreak getaway in her hometown in Pagsanjan. This weekend trip involves shooting the rapids en route to Pagsanjan Falls, enjoying a festive lunch in their farm in Cavinti, touring Caliraya and sole searching in Liliw.

Guess which one excites me the most? Of course, it’s the encounter with the wild water to Pagsanjan Falls! Were you thinking the shoe shopping segment? Well, it ranks second. I guess I’m not imeldific or kikay enough. And I can already imagine you arguing “There’s Imelda in everyone!” I guess that’s true if I could afford to spoil my flat feet and give in to every craving for shoes. In this side trip to Liliw, I realized it’s possible.

Let the sole searching begin!

Let the sole searching begin!

The Liliw Festival was ongoing during our visit so we can’t haggle much. But then again, they were selling their beautiful footwear for incredibly low amount already. It would probably be too much to ask for discounts!

Size 10, please!

Size 10, please!

Which color looks better? Or should I get both?

Which color looks better? Or should I get both?

With so many options to choose from, we had trouble deciding which color to get. In my case, I had to ask everyone if I should go for kick-ass mahogany or classic black pumps (upper left photo) and which pair of swirly sandals compliment my morena skin (middle left photo). I was even supposed to get the wedges with floral design in Steprite (lower right photo) but I eventually changed my mind.

We were a team...until Chiqui's Amazing Race mindset kicked in!

We were a team…until Chiqui’s Amazing Race mindset kicked in!

As if indecision were not torture enough, Chiqui suddenly thought we should crown the one who takes home the most number of shoes! I can’t remember if everyone agreed, but a part of me wanted to win.

Unfortunately, I didn’t. Chiqui bagged home 7 pairs for less than phP1,000! Can you believe it? Some girls really find it effortless to shop away. I think her shoe size is a good factor, too. I remember clamoring for Ayi’s cute wedges, but they don’t have size 10. How heartbreaking, right?

And I took home black pumps, swirly sandals & green wedges!

And I took home black pumps, swirly sandals & green wedges!

Call me nuts, but I went for the ever safe and boring black pumps over adventurous mahogany pumps (PhP570). I also took home the orange-yellow-brown sandals (PhP230) and light green wedges (PhP220). Not bad, right?

I just re-read the past paragraphs and I can’t help but look down pitifully at my abused purple flats. This probably means I must retrace my steps back to Liliw soon.

2 thoughts on “Sole Searching in Liliw

Leave a Reply

